Bongaigaon district is situated in western part of Assam on the north bank of mighty river Brahamaputra. It is about 200KM away from the state capital Dishpur of Assam. The District was curved out from Goalpara and Kokrajhar district in the year 1989.

         Bongaigaon district is sorrounded by four districts namely Barpeta in the Eastern part, Goalpara in the South-Eastern part, Kokrajhar in Western part and Dhubri in the South-Eastern part. Bhutan is also situted near by Bongaigaon district in the Northern part which is about 100 km from Bongaigaon HQs. There are many hillocks in Bongaigaon district in an around Jogighopa township. It is interesting to note that some of the hillocks are found to be scattered further in the Bongaigaon and Kokrajhar districts reaching as far north as the railway line.

bongd.gif (14927 bytes)

About Bongaigaon in short:

Total Area  :     1751Square KM.

Total Number of Myadi Patta  : 96645

Area of total Myadi Patta  : 715607 Bigha 1 Katha 15.5 lesa

Total Number of Annual Patta  : 14639

Area of total Annual Patta  : 57556 Bigha 4 Katha 1 lesa.

Area of Goverment Land  : 291075 Bigha 2 Katha 19.5 lesa.

Total protected Forestry area  : 42868 Bigha 3 Katha 14 lesa.


HOME                                                         PREVIOUS PAGE